Fitness Friday: My Story

Standard

up to you

Happy Friday everyone! Today’s blog post is dedicated to fitness and I’m going to tell you a little bit about my background. I first started working out and actually trying to take care of myself during my last semester of college in 2011. During my college career I sailed right past the Freshman Fifteen and went straight to the Freshman Forty. Not a good place to be, I assure you. I developed awful acid reflux and was completely ashamed of myself. And of course it didn’t do good things for my self-esteem. One of the hardest parts was feeling disappointed in myself (I never thought I’d ever let that happen) and knowing that others were disappointed in me too. However, I was fortunate enough to participate in a new free program my school was trying out called The Wellness Program. For an entire semester I got a personal trainer (who was amazing!) and free nutrition coaching and classes. It was wonderful. I lost my first 10lbs during the program and a bunch of inches, especially around my waist.My eating habits still weren’t great, but at least I was working out regularly and I learned a lot.

It was harder to keep up my new healthier habits once I moved back home and got a full time job. But I never gained those 10lbs back, and later that fall I got back on the wagon. I started eating healthier (which is not easy working in an office, let me tell you) and working out regularly again. It seemed like the next 20lbs flew off. I got so many compliments and got to buy new clothes. And I felt so much better in general, mentally as well as physically. I was running regularly and it was an incredible stress reliever. I even completed Hal Higdon’s half-marathon training plan and ran my first half-marathon that following May! I did various workouts, mostly running, Zumba, and a variety of Jillian Michaels dvds- her workouts are kickasss. A lot of hard work got the next 10lbs off and I was back to my pre-college weight. Finally.

before and after

2010 / 2014

But I still wasn’t completely happy. I felt great, yes, but wasn’t where I wanted to be. I hate to say it but I’ve been bouncing around that same weight ever since. I would say that I am overall fairly happy with my body. I’m definitely looking and feeling much better than I did, but I’m not quite where I want to be. I want to lose some more fat and tone up. I have to admit, though, that I no longer care what number the scale says. I couldn’t even tell you my weight right now. What I can tell you is that I don’t feel right. Lately my clothes are feeling tighter and I just don’t feel as well overall. And it is definitely all my fault. I could make excuses all day about how my crappy night shift schedule makes it more difficult to workout, or how I’m always  busy or tired. And all of these things are true, but when it comes down to it you have to make time for your body. When I’m piling on the excuses I remember that there are busier people out there who make time for working out and eating right. Eating right has been my biggest obstacle lately. I love working out and how it makes me feel, so it’s easier for me to squeeze in a workout than it is to take the time and effort to eat better. I love healthy food, but the siren call of fast food has been winning out much too often lately, especially when we’re busy. And I’ve been making unhealthy choices at restaurants and in the grocery store. What it comes down is that I have not been doing my best for myself. I need to get back on track. Here are some my current healthy goals:

  • Eat more fruits and vegetables
  • Eat less meat
  • No more fast food. Period.
  • Lift weights 2-3x a week
  • Run and/or go for walks several times a week
  • Watch less tv
  • Do more yoga
  • Try something new, fitness-wise. I’d love to try kickboxing classes
  • Workout outside more. I need that D! (vitamin D, you pervs)

pull up

That was me a few months ago doing my first band-assisted pull-up. I was so excited! I had been lifting weights regularly and finally saw some results. Sadly, I can no longer do one since I haven’t been strength training enough lately. I like to look at this, and to look at my old college photos to remind myself where I came from and how great I still can be. I’ve come a long way and I don’t plan on giving up now.

I need to learn to be more forgiving of myself when I fall off the wagon. It happens to everyone. No one is perfect. But I also need to learn when to suck it up, shut down the pity party, and get my ass in gear. It’s time to kick this shit into gear, people. For real.

One way I plan on doing this is by tackling my eating habits head on. I recently watched the Joe Cross documentary Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead and was inspired by Joe’s story. If you haven’t watched it, I definitely recommend it. Basically he did a major reboot and drank only fruit and vegetable juice for 60 days. I know what you’re thinking. What a nutjob, he’s crazy, and maybe he was a little, but he’s certainly started a movement. Just check out the movie or even check out the site rebootwithjoe.com and see what it’s about. I don’t think I need to do something as drastic as 60 days, but I am going to try his 15 day reboot. I think it’s just the ticket to detox my body and get things back on track. I have some serious food addictions that need broken. I also really just want to get back to my natural state. We eat so much processed garbage. It’s ridiculous. Like Joe says in the movie, we’re overfed yet starving because our food has so few nutrients in it. Once I get it all planned out and started I’ll keep you all posted on my progress. Maybe that will help keep me on track 🙂

reboot book

Well, that’s my story. I am, as we all are, a work in progress (in more ways than one.) I’m always up for learning new fitness and healthy living, so please feel free to leave me a comment or shoot me a message with your story or the things you like to do to keep fit. I’ll continue posting about fitness-related things on occasion and share anything neat that I find with everyone.

no excuses

 

2 thoughts on “Fitness Friday: My Story

  1. Fantastic story! Everyone has a journey and a struggle, and we never know another persons story until they are easy to share it! Great job, it’s always important to recognize what needs to be done!

Leave a Reply

