Juice Reboot: Prep Week

Standard

fruitsnveg

I mentioned in my Fitness Friday post that I was planning on doing Joe Cross’ Juice Reboot. I was debating about when to start, and while I was tempted to keep putting it off (because let’s face it, this is going to be tough) I decided it’s now or never. I need to get my eating habits under control. I’m tired of being a slave to food cravings. I want to start eating as cleanly as possible, and I think the juice reboot will be a good way to jump start this and detox my body.

Today I visited a local produce store and Kroger to get some supplies for the prep week for my juice reboot, which I’m officially starting tomorrow. Here’s the general plan for this week:

  • Stop eating fast food, fried food, sugar, processed foods, and lunch meats
  • No alcohol
  • Transition off of animal proteins by the end of the week. Stick to fish, poultry, and only lean cuts of red meat. Should be getting protein solely from veggies by the end of the week; ideally no meat after the third or fourth day
  • Transition off of caffeine: reduce, switch to decaf, then switch to green tea or herbal tea
  • Stay hydrated
  • Get plenty of sleep
  • Juice at least once a day
  • Eat more soups, salads, nuts, seeds, beans, and legumes

After the prep week is over I’ll start the actual reboot. I’ve chosen to follow the 15 day Reboot. I think that’s a decent length of time to really get some good habits set in that I can stick with after it’s over.

I’ll keep you guys posted over the next week and maybe share some recipes and things like that. Once the prep week is over and I’ve started the reboot I’ll post about it too and let you guys know how it’s going. I think posting about it regularly will help keep me focused and hold me accountable. 

I’m a little nervous. Food has always been such a big part of my life. Too big a part. It’s scary to make big changes, but I think this is what I need right now. I want to be the best version of myself that I can be, and I know my body deserves better than how I’ve been treating it lately.

I think the hardest part for me will be the nights that I’m home alone. My boyfriend and I both work night shift, and on the nights that he’s at work but I’m off, I spend the whole night at home working on stuff and grazing all night. I’ll have to keep extra busy and make plenty of juice ahead of time so my juicer doesn’t wake my neighbors up. I imagine it will also be difficult if we go out with friends at all since my choices will be limited (compared to normal anyways). But hey, it’s only 15 days. I’ll manage.

vegan cookbook

I found this book at Target yesterday and thought that the recipes looked so good that I’d give some a try. My boyfriend (who is terrified at the thought of giving up meat) even conceded that they looked yummy. I don’t plan on giving up meat completely when the reboot is over, however, I do want to reduce how much we eat and when we do eat it, we need to eat healthier leaner meats. Watching the documentary Forks Over Knives was enough to convince me that less meat and dairy is the way to go. 

I’m pretty excited to get started! Wish me luck!

 

 p.s. I started a Facebook group for the blog, so if you’d like updates of when new posts are up and such, feel free to “like” on the left-hand side of this page.

-also-

Feel free to follow me on Pinterest if you’d like: http://www.pinterest.com/bookwormbalance/

 

Leave a Reply

